## ATD – a Global Reach

In 1943, a group of men representing the petroleum industry created the American Society of Training Directors (ASTD). These visionaries wanted to raise the standards and prestige of the training profession and further the education and development of those responsible for training others. This has remained ASTD's purpose for 70 years.

In 1964, the national association changed its name to the American Society for Training and Development keeping the identification as ASTD.

In 2000, recognizing that it had become an international organization, the American Society for Training and Development chose to refer to itself by just the letters ASTD to underscore that it served a global market.

After years of research, in May 2014, ASTD announced a rebranding to fully embrace its global scope, and ASTD became the Association for Talent Development (ATD).

## The Tulsa Area Affiliate Chapter

In January 1949, a group of oilmen formed the Northeast Oklahoma Training Association in Tulsa. In 1950, the local association affiliated with ASTD. In 1952, the chapter renamed itself the Tulsa Chapter of ASTD.

As the local chapter grew, it changed its name to the Tulsa Green Country chapter of ASTD in 1976.

In 2004, to better define it service reach, the local chapter changed its name to the Northeast Oklahoma chapter of ASTD and the Oklahoma City chapter of ASTD became the Central Oklahoma chapter.

As part of the ATD rebranding, the Northeast Oklahoma Chapter of ASTD, listening to input from its members about the chapter's identity and difficulty of finding information via online searches, the members voted to change its name to ATD Tulsa Chapter. In 2019, the chapter celebrated is 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary!



TULSA CHAPTER Association for Talent Development

While our chapter history is not complete, we do have chapter president information dating back to the 1980.

## **Partial List of Chapter Presidents**

1980	Dave Foreman	2020	Lewana Harris
1981	Forrest Belcher	2021	Linda Jenkins
1982	Carol Farmer	2022	Sunilyn Hertt
1983	Annabell Wilkinson	2023	
1984	Hugh Dougherty	2024	
1985	Jennifer Augar Maw	2025	
1986	Dave Wilkinson		

- 1987 Karen Mertz 1988 Jim Rhea
- 1989 Barbara Henke (Bannon)
- 1990 Karen Bearden
- 1991 Bob Costello (deceased)
- 1992 Marilyn Scott
- 1993 Ray McCalment
- 1994 Diana McCalment
- 1995 Sharon Crochet
- 1996 Patty Herriage
- 1997 Anita Gordy Watkins
- 1998 Sandi Eslick
- 1999 Lori Gracey
- 2000 Julie Via
- 2001 Julie Via
- 2002 Carl Potter
- 2003 Clint Hoppes
- 2004 Sandra Campbell (Goodwin)
- 2005 Peggy Hancock
- 2006 Scott McGhee
- 2007 Andrew Griffiths
- 2008 Mary Sirkel
- 2009 Stacy Davis, CPLP (Boone)
- 2010 Linda Adlof
- 2011 Myra Fanning
- 2012 Chris Woodard
- 2013 Sam Dutro (partial term)
- 2013 Chris Woodard (remaining term)
- 2014 Steve Laswell
- 2015 Skip Eller
- 2016 Shane Norrid (partial term)
- 2016 Larry Straining, CPLP (remaining term)
- 2017 Lorinda Schrammel
- 2018 Linda Jenkins
- 2019 Walt Hansmann, CPLP, DTM